Roasted Veggies and a Caprese Salad

I recently tried beets and Brussels sprouts for maybe the second or third time ever.  While I knew they’d make for a healthy meal, I was doubtful they’d make for a tasty one.  Much to my surprise and delight, these roasted vegetables were delicious and satisfying.  Once roasted, the Brussels sprouts were brown on the outside, but tasted incredible.  The beets were like a variation of a sweet potato, only a bit earthier in taste.

I first made these vegetables for a goat cheese salad from Tosca Reno’s The Eat Clean Diet Recharged a couple of weeks ago when I began working my way into the clean eating lifestyle.

Tonight I decided to take what I’d learned and adapt it a bit as I don’t want to be eating the same 15 meals for the rest of my life.  I started off with the same vegetables: beets and Brussels sprouts.

IMG_3078

After washing everything off and cutting down the beets, I roasted them in a large baking dish coated with extra virgin olive oil at 400 degrees for an hour.

I’ve read that you can peel beets after they’re cooked, and you can, but the last time I made them I peeled them first and found that much easier.  They’re tasty, but can be a bit difficult.

IMG_3076

 Meanwhile, I cooked three servings of the brown rice according to the package’s directions.

When the rice and vegetables were finished and cooling off, I prepared a little Caprese salad.

IMG_3109

I absolutely love this salad, especially when it’s made with heirloom tomatoes.  I picked up a couple of them at Wegmans this week, along with a ball of mozzarella.  This is a really easy salad: slice tomatoes, cut or tear up pieces of cheese, and add basil, salt, pepper, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.  It’s a wonderful summer dish.

IMG_3125

 Dinner turned out really well overall.  It was filling, nutritious, and clean – what more could you want?!

IMG_3119

Roasted Vegetables over Rice

–       1-2 bunches beets

–       Approximately 20-30 Brussels sprouts

–       Brown rice

–       Olive oil

  1. Wash and trim the vegetables, then toss in about two tablespoons of olive oil.
  2. Roast them in an olive oil-coated baking dish at 400 degrees for one hour.
  3. Meanwhile, cook the rice (about 3-4 servings) as directed.
  4. Serve the vegetables over the rice.  Season as desired.

Caprese Salad

–       1-2 heirloom tomatoes

–       1 mozzarella ball

–       Basil leaves

–       Balsamic vinegar

–       Salt

–       Black pepper

  1. Slice the tomatoes thinly and arrange on each plate.
  2. Cut or tear the cheese into small pieces and arrange on tomatoes
  3. Top with basil leaves
  4. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar – a little goes a long way!
  5. Salt and pepper as desired
Leave a Reply

