Goat Cheese Heaven

A couple of month ago, my neighborhood Uno’s closed.  That’s probably a good thing, because it means I’ll have one less opportunity to eat greasy pizza, right?  I suppose.  But any tears I shed over this loss were not for the pizza… they were for the goat cheese salad.

I first discovered the goat cheese salad about two years ago at Sweetwater Tavern.  When I rediscovered it at Uno’s, which was much closer to me, I was thrilled!  Stop laughing – you would be too.  Picture it: walnut-encrusted, browned goat cheese surrounded by blueberries on a bed of arugula covered in a blueberry vinaigrette.  Like I said: heaven.

There is a recipe for a goat cheese salad with roasted beets and Brussels sprouts in my new favorite cookbook, The Eat-Clean Diet Recharged by Tosca Reno, and when I made that, it turned out great.  I was seriously surprised at how much I liked Brussels sprouts – and beets, for that matter!  It was light and filling at the same time – the point of healthy eating, right?

But the other day I got a real hankering for that blueberry salad.  One quick grocery trip later, and I was making this:

IMG_3280

It was so good I made another one the next night… and the night after that.  I promise I’ll take a night off tonight.

I decided to go ahead and slice/crumble the goat cheese up right from the start because that’s how it turns out anyway, and I was making a smaller portion than I’d have eaten in a restaurant.  I was missing the blueberry vinaigrette (Has anyone ever seen one in a store?  Tell me!), but my old reliable balsamic worked well.

Blueberry Goat Cheese Salad

– 1 cup baby arugula

– 3/4 – 1 cup blueberries

– 1/3 round goat cheese

– 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

– Balsamic vinaigrette (blueberry if you can find it or make it!)

Very simple: toss the ingredients together and savor.

I bought a small round of goat cheese at Wegmans and used about a third of it – maybe not even that much – and it was enough for two small salads.  Feel free to indulge in a little more, though. 😉  As you can see above, I used Newman’s Own dressing – I love the flavor.  To go with it, I cooked two chicken breast cutlets (my new favorite form of chicken to buy) with olive oil, salt, and freshly ground black pepper.  Then I had the sudden inspiration to “summer it up” and add some lemon.

IMG_3299

Let me tell you: good idea.  I’ve seen recipes for lemon chicken before, but all I did this time was juice a lemon and split the juice between the two pieces once they were cooked.  It was SO good.

IMG_3304

So, another great summery dinner created!  I think I’m starting to get the hang of this. 🙂

And on that note, happy first day of summer!  Get out there and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

