Jus D’Orange

Eating clean means a lot more cooking than the average American in 2013 might be used to.  That’s certainly been true for me.  There’s a lot of talk about how cooking at home is better because you can control what’s in your food.  But this afternoon, after I indulged myself in a little Starbucks (I’m cutting back – really), I started thinking about applying this principle to drinks as well.

It goes without saying that the white mocha I had this afternoon is loaded with calories and sugar.  Sugar is bad.  Soda is bad.  And so on.  In the past, when I’ve gone on a “healthy eating kick,” I’ve tried to cut out those things and drink mostly water, milk, and juice.  Sounds good, right?  I thought so too.  Even with my healthy breakfasts I wrote about recently, I sometimes have a glass of orange juice.  But even “healthy” juices are often loaded with extra sugar.  What’s a girl to do?!  Tonight, I walked into the kitchen and inspiration hit.

IMG_3592

Just this morning, I fought the urge to pour a glass of Simply Orange (which I think is at least better than other processed juices), but I absolutely cannot go the rest of my days just drinking water and herbal tea.  I mean, I love them both, but I need a little more variety.  So when I saw this bag of more oranges than I’ll be able to eat before they go bad, I realized I had a solution to both problems.

IMG_3596

I bought a juicer (not a fancy appliance – just the old-fashioned one pictured above) recently to juice an orange for a recipe.  Tonight, I juiced about ten.  It was such an easy process too – cut the orange in half, juice both halves, then strain the juice.  I’m not a pulp fan – if you are, you get to save a step – high-five!

IMG_3608

I happened to have a box of huge Ball jars in the pantry left over from my kitchen herb garden – what better use to put one to?  In the end, I only got about half a jar’s worth of juice, but it’s a good start, right?  I bought a 4-lb. bag of oranges for right around $4.00 at the store, and while this is not as much juice as you’d get in a carton for that much money, at least I know what’s in it.  That’s worth a few bucks at least!

So, moment of truth: it tasted delicious.   And I’m very happy that I’ll get to have orange juice with my bran muffins tomorrow.

IMG_3613

This is definitely one to try out this summer!  It’s easy, it’s healthy, and it’s so refreshing.  Cheers!

One thought on “Jus D’Orange

  1. Pingback: Lesson the First | Erin's Eatery

Leave a Reply

