Pretty Little Pizzas

As you read in my last post, I’ve been a little off track with this healthy eating thing lately.  But sitting here now, sipping on a peach and honey smoothie and looking back over the last few days, I think I’m making my way back.  Last night, I was craving pizza, but rather than call up Papa John, I decided to take matters into my own kitchen.

Enter the homemade pita naan pizza.

IMG_3904

I’ve never used naan before and have probably only eaten it a handful of times.  But I can tell you this: it makes for a truly tasty pizza.  I cheated a little on this recipe by using a jar of marinara sauce – oh, the horror! – but I dressed it up with some fresh diced heirloom tomatoes.  Heirloom tomatoes, have I told you lately that I love you?

Naan, fresh basil, grated mozzarella, marinara sauce, heirloom tomato

Naan, fresh basil, grated mozzarella, marinara sauce, heirloom tomato

 

These are so tasty and so easy to make.  You turn on your broiler and while that’s heating up, spread the sauce on your naan, top with some of the diced tomatoes, and cover with cheese and any other toppings you like.  Steve added mushrooms, while I stuck with basil.  Once the broiler is hot, these go in the oven on cookie sheets for five minutes.

IMG_3897  IMG_3905

 

 

 

 

And just how did I get the basil to stay so green and pretty?  I actually didn’t put it in the oven!  I’ve made eggplant parmigiana with fresh basil before, and while it still tastes good cooked, it turns brown and isn’t as pretty.  But cooked or not, the stuff is delicious!  I used some of my little basil plant that’s been hanging out in my kitchen all summer in a Mason jar.  It feels so good to use fresh ingredients when I can!

IMG_3890

Gorgeous, isn’t it?

 

These little pizzas are fun to make, easy to make, QUICK to make, and so yummy.

Naan, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship!

Leave a Reply

