Candied Walnuts and Green Beans

Remember how excited I was over that honey couscous?  Well, I’ve topped it.  As I mentioned in the couscous post, I’ve been on a mission to find or create more exciting side dishes and get away from my typical salads and steamed veggies (They’re not banished, I just want to jazz things up.).  The couscous was delicious with its carrots, saffron, and honey, and continuing along those lines, I’ve got another side dish, once again featuring my favorite new sweetener.  I promise that for my next side dish, I’ll make something spicy or zesty.  But for now, I give you candy.

To start off, who doesn’t love green beans?  They’re tasty, easy to cook, and so good for you.  I started off this recipe by washing them, snapping off the ends, and then boiling them for about ten minutes.

IMG_4165

In my boring-side-dish past, I would have drained them, sprinkled them with some salt and maybe some garlic powder if I was feeling adventurous, and called it a day.  But things have changed around here!  Out with the salt, in with the brown sugar.

While the beans were cooking, I chopped up 3/4 of a cup of walnuts in my handy mini-processor and spread those on a baking sheet.  Next, I sprinkled about 2 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar all over them and drizzled them with honey.  That went into a 300-degree oven for just about five minutes to melt everything together.  Is your mouth watering yet?

IMG_4187

Finally, after everything was finished, I drained the beans, transferred them to a serving bowl, and mixed in the to-die-for walnut mix.

IMG_4191

I’d cooked a roast on Sunday, complete with carrots, onions, and potatoes, so I had leftovers of that last night with these green beans.  It was all just delicious.  I wouldn’t necessarily have this in a meal with the honey couscous, as I think there is in fact such a thing as too much honey, but with roasted vegetables, they were a nice little sweet complement.

These beans are very easy to cook and the mix is easy to make.  Try it out soon – you won’t be sorry!

IMG_4195

Candied Walnuts and Green Beans

Ingredients

1 lb. green beans, washed with stems snapped off

3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts

2 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar

Honey (approximately 1/4 cup)

1. Cover green beans in water in a large pot and bring to a boil; cook for ten minutes or until done.

2. While the beans are cooking, spread walnuts on a baking sheet.  Sprinkle with brown sugar and drizzle with honey.  Place into a 300-degree over for about five minutes.

3. When the beans are done, drain, put into a serving bowl, and stir in the honey-walnut mix.

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

