Simple, Scrumptious Spaghetti

Two posts in a week – look at her go!  I just had to share this flavorful (and rather pretty) meal with you.  I like a lot of foodie pages on Facebook, one of which is ‘Elegant Foods and Desserts.”  Over the weekend, I was browsing around and came across a picture of a pasta dish with tomatoes and basil.  It looked like the perfect summer meal.  I realize it’s only February and is still snowing, but a girl can dream.  I didn’t find a recipe attached to it, just a short list of ingredients – enough for me.

IMG_4698

Mise en place

Last night, I got my mise on and had a wonderful dinner in no time.  Before you go thinking that I went through half the dishes in my cabinets to get a pretty picture, let me tell you that I regularly use prep bowls.  Pre-measuing, cutting, dicing, chiffonade-ing, and so on not only helps you make sure you have everything you need, but also saves you time while you’re cooking.  If you need to add three ingredients to a dish right when it starts to boil, you’d better have them ready to go.  Prep work here was easy.  I cut up the tomatoes, pressed the garlic, and cut up the basil into a chiffonade.

IMG_4712

Once I had the spaghetti cooking, I combined the tomatoes and garlic with about a tablespoon of olive oil and some salt and pepper in an oven-safe bowl.  I put those into a 325-degree oven for five minutes just to warm them up.  When they came out of the oven, I stirred in the basil.  Once the spaghetti was finished, I drained it, tossed everything together, mixed in half the Parmesan, a little salt and pepper, and dinner was served.

IMG_4727

This dish was mouthwatering.  I had it with a side spinach salad with cranberries, red onion, walnuts, and red wine vinegar and oil.  The whole thing felt very summery to me.  When the snow is gone, I’ll be enjoying this with a glass of wine on my balcony.

Simple, Scrumptious Spaghetti

Ingredients

1/2 box spaghetti (preferably whole wheat)

Approximately 20-30 cherry tomatoes, quartered

5-6 basil leaves, sliced into chiffonade

1/2 cup shredded Parmesan

4 cloves garlic, peeled and pressed

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and pepper

1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees; Cook spaghetti according to package directions

2. Toss quartered tomatoes, pressed garlic, olive oil, and salt and pepper in an oven-safe bowl

3. Place tomatoes in pre-heated oven for approximately five minutes (you’re just warming them)

4. Once tomatoes are out of the oven, stir in basil

5. When the spaghetti is cooked and drained, return to pot and stir in tomato mixture and half the Parmesan cheese.

6. Serve immediately, sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese, and enjoy!

One thought on “Simple, Scrumptious Spaghetti

Leave a Reply

