Thyme is On My Side

Yes, it is!  Tonight’s dinner was fantastic.  This afternoon, I Googled “chicken thyme recipes” and found this recipe from a website called “Inspired Taste.”  It looked relatively easy, so I gave it a try.  I just so happened to have one of the key ingredients on hand:

photo

I’ve tried growing herbs before from seeds, and it was mostly successful, but eventually they tanked.  Of the few I had, I’ve really missed basil and thyme.  When I was at Trader Joe’s last week, I stumbled upon a little shelf of herbs for three bucks a pop.  Unfortunately they didn’t have basil, but I did replace the thyme.

Dinner tonight was really easy.  I’ll let you read the recipe on the website, but I’ll tell you that I used my dutch oven because it’s the only cast-iron thing I own.  It turned out so well!

photo-3

I’m a big fan of browning chicken first before putting it in the oven, so this was perfect for me.  I served it on top of mashed potatoes, as shown on the website, and added a couple of lemon wedges.  I love lemon in tea and water, but I’ve recently started squeezing a little juice on my chicken and fish – oh, the flavor!

The thyme was a really nice touch to this dish.  I love herbs de Provence, so I can never really say no to any component of it.  I served this with some roasted Brussels sprouts and parsnips.  Normally, I’d probably have a salad, but I had the veggies in the fridge and wanted to use them before they went bad.  They were really great, and the parsnips added a sweetness that rounded out the meal nicely.

photo-2

 

I won’t say too much about the roasted Brussels sprouts here because I could write an entire post on them (and likely will soon).  For now, know this: if you cut them in half, put them cut-side-down in a baking dish with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roast them in a 400-degree oven for 20-30 minutes until they brown, you’ll fall in love.

 

Till next time – happy cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

