Sweet!

A big part of healthy eating is cooking for yourself. You know what’s going into your food, you can control what’s going into your food, and let’s face it: when you have to put in a little effort, you’re less likely to over-indulge. Although last night it was hard not to over-indulge on what I cooked.

I’ve always loved sweet potato fries – I mean, who doesn’t? Anyone? Didn’t think so. But the only times I’ve had them were in restaurants or from the frozen section of the grocery store. Last week, I tried out a black bean burger recipe that has a little bit of cooked sweet potato in it, so when I made them again tonight, I thought the fries would be the perfect side.

I read a few recipes online, but in the end I went my own way. The big decision in making fries is how to season them. After smelling every spice in my cabinet, I landed on these:

IMG_4949

I had never even opened the ground cloves! It kind of makes me wonder why I bought them. At any rate, from what I’d read online, I knew I needed olive oil, salt, and sugar. As far the rest, I think I landed on a pretty good combination. The cloves and nutmeg gave just enough kick to balance out the sweet.

IMG_4952
 

After tossing everything together in a bowl, I spread the wedges onto a baking sheet and put them into a preheated 450-degree oven for about 15 minutes, then tossed them around and flipped them over.  Then they cooked for another ten minutes.
IMG_4961

 

 

I’ll be honest, at first I thought they were burnt, but it was just the spices.  They were perfect!  A little crispy on the outside and oh-so-sweet on the inside.

 
 

You might disagree, but I think these fries would be good even after they got cold! I was so happy with how they turned out. This was definitely a spur-of-the-moment dinner decision, but it’s one that I’ll be making again!

IMG_4969

The black bean burgers are Tosca Reno’s recipe, of course (I do love her), and the fries were the perfect complement. This was the perfect summer dinner. I know it’s not summer yet, but I’m a teacher, so it’s actually been summer for three weeks.
IMG_4976

Till next time! ❤

Leave a Reply

