Lesson the First

I’ve learned a lot since I started eating better and particularly since I (most of the time) eliminated gluten: portion control, reading ingredients, planning meals, budgeting… the list goes on, and I’m quite sure I’ll elaborate on each item in more detail than you could want to know in the future.  Trying not to obsess, I’ve paid close attention to my eating habits.  I’ve learned that when I eat regular, healthy meals, I don’t have the afternoon crash; I’ve learned that I can cook vegetarian and even vegan meals that are filling and delicious; and, I’ve learned that if I start my day with a really healthy breakfast, I’m more likely to stay on track for the entire day.

I’ve taken to eating yogurt with granola in it, adding in various nuts and berries, but the granola has seven grams of sugar… and the yogurt has seventeen.  I don’t care for Greek yogurt, and my two options for regular, plain yogurt at the grocery store are non-fat and low-fat.  Granted, I eat a small serving, but still… all this sugar adds up. I would happily buy full fat, mainly because low-fat products tend to come with added sugar to balance out the taste if it were available (Ahem… Wegmans).  Until that happy day, I’ve decided to change up breakfast a bit.  Enter oatmeal.

IMG_6240

What a ton of ingredients, right?  I’ve always been a fan of oatmeal, but it usually came out of a packet.  (Yes, this oatmeal has a packet in a manner of speaking.)  But one thing I’ve discovered in my quest to eat well is that it’s almost always better to make things yourself.  I haven’t gone so far as to live solely off the land (saving that for retirement), but I’m making adjustments where I can.  This is the new normal, and if there’s a step beyond this, I know I’ll be better prepared to take it now.

IMG_6258

So what exactly is in my oatmeal?  Well, I started using Bob’s Red Mill Scottish Oatmeal, but it takes close to ten minutes to cook.  Not great for those early mornings.  I recently switched over to Bob’s Quick Cooking Oats, which are a little different in texture, but just as good.  The great thing about oatmeal is that, like any great meal, you can make it your own.  I add in chia seed, chopped walnuts, raisins, cinnamon, and honey.  Yes, there is still some sugar in this, but none of that pesky added sugar.  It’s nutrition-packed, warm and delicious, and keeps me full all morning.

IMG_6281

 

Breakfast is still not perfect.  I usually have half a glass of orange juice, which is loaded with sugar, but I do try to moderate it.  In fact, once upon a time I made my own orange juice, which was really a treat and something I want to do again.  One good thing I can say about my sugar consumption is that I’ve really cut down on it in my coffee, and my tastes have really changed there.  I put about a quarter or a third of a teaspoon of sugar in a pretty big mug of coffee now, something I wouldn’t have been able to drink a couple years ago.  I’ve heard that gradually cutting back is the trick, and it seems to be so.

As I said earlier, when I have a good breakfast like this, it sets the tone for the whole day.  First of all, I’m not having a sugar meltdown two hours later, and second, when I begin my day on the right track, I’m much more motivated to keep eating well and not screw it up by eating junk later.  It doesn’t always work, but so far the success rate is looking good.

Till next time – happy eating! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

